ICT-KM of the CGIAR

Collaborate, Create, Communicate

Mendeley Webinar – October 7, 2010 – register now!

By crawling and extracting information from a user’s library, Mendeley creates a directory of research for all users to search. In doing this, Mendeley is working to organize the world’s research papers and facilitate collaboration among interested parties.

If you would like to learn more about how to organize, share and discover research papers with Mendeley, then we are pleased to invite you to the following webinar jointly organized by Mendeley and the ICT-KM Program.

What is Mendeley in essence?

Mendeley is a bibliographic database, where you can keep your reference data (like Endnote) and extracts bibliographic data when possible from PDF files to:

  • Help you organize and keep track of the PDF files you’ve got stored on your hard drive.
  • Allow you to keep some of those PDF files on the Mendeley web site so you can access them, via the web, from somewhere else and syncronize this information across multiple machines.
  • Allows you to “cite while you write” depending on the software you use, vacuum bibliographic data off the web from various places and collaborate with others in this endeavor.

Use of Mendeley is one of the pathways to make your research more available and accessible we developed through the  CIARD initiative.

Interested now?

Do you want to see a real application of Mendeley?

IFPRI has been making great use of this tool! I saw two great ways to link publication records on Mendeley to a staff profile… no need to manually update publication.  The other way of showing it..

IFPRI Information and Knowledge management team runs  sessions on Fridays to show scientists how to make use of the tool… check them out at their TGIF siteNow you should really be interested!

Who should sign-up to the webinar?

Newcomers and current users who would like to learn more about how Mendeley can be used to your advantage.

How to register to the webinar?

Please complete this online form to register. We will contact you after you have completed the registration with more detailed information to join the webinar.

Date: Thursday, October 7, 2010

Time: EST Time: New York 10:00 am/ Rome 16:00 pm / Lima: 09:00 am / Addis Ababa: 17:00 pm –/Nairobi: 17:00 pm

Duration: ~ 60 minutes

Moderator: Jessica Mezei (Mendeley)

More on Mendeley: Fact Sheet and Website

Register now!